Thinking aloud……part 1……

“To raise a child, who is comfortable enough to leave you, means you have done your job. They are not ours to keep, but to teach how to soar on their own”

Read this on Facebook and it got me thinking. Somehow, I could not agree with this….my values and my upbringing will not let me accept this as the done thing. Having been brought up in an extremely traditional and sheltered environment, I have different expectations.

Well, a part of me does anyway…..however, another part of me says, move along, adapt and change. There is a constant turmoil within me, an endless debate….I am not sure if there will be an end……..

As a mother, even now, I feel like I am losing a “part of myself” every time I drop my son off. Then, the sensible part of me takes over and life goes on….well, until the next time anyway……

Somewhere I read the term “transitional generation” or is that my own creation….I am not sure. I would use that term to describe our generation.

On the one hand, our parents have expectations and we strive to fulfill those…….we do not think twice. It is what we have been brought up with. It is part of our value system. We even enjoy it.

At the same time, our children strive for an “independent” life. Our children definitely love us and respect us. Absolutely no doubts there!!!

I would put it down to evolution. The world is constantly changing. Sometimes, too fast for the some of us………

 

 

Leave a Reply

