Sun dried tomatoes and olive Focaccia

I just made some Focaccia yesterday for my family. I didn’t mean to take pictures or post. However, one thing lead to another. We have a whatsApp group amongst cousins. To begin with, my sister posted pictures of bread, she had baked, then my cousin posted her daughter’s bread rolls followed by granola bars from my other sister…..that got me going. I just had to take pictures of my focaccia and post them as well.

I ended up posting on Facebook as well and I have had so many requests for recipe. How could I not share the recipe? I had taken this recipe from a blog called yummilicious a long time back. Tried the link but it does not work any more. I am a little lazy. When I jot down recipes for myself, it is all in shortcuts. So, I decided to write up the recipe in the “proper way”…..then I thought, why not just post it on my blog. So, here we go…..

(I always keep my write-ups short on a recipe post as a lot of people just want the recipe anyway and few read the actual write-up)

image

Ingredients

All-purpose flour / plain flour 3 cups
Warm water 1 ½ cups
Instant yeast 2 ½ tsp
Sugar 4 tsp
Olive oil ¼ cup + 2 tbsp. to drizzle
Salt 1 ½ tsp
Mixed Italian herbs 1 tsp
Chilli flakes ½ tsp
Olives 10 – 12, roughly sliced
Sundried tomatoes 5 – 6 roughly shredded

Method

You can either knead the dough by hand or in a stand mixer. I find it easier to do it in the stand mixer but it is your choice. I do not find any difference in the texture doing it either way.

Place 2 ½ tsp yeast in a small bowl. Add about ½ cup of warm water and leave it in a warm place for about 10 minutes or until it froths up.

In a large bowl (or the bowl of your stand mixer), add 3 cups of flour, salt and sugar. Mix it lightly with your fingers (or with the dough hook if you are using the stand mixer).

Add the ¼ cup of olive oil and the yeast mixture to the flour.

Add the rest of the warm water (1 cup) and mix with a wooden spoon until it comes together. Give it about 20 – 25 strokes with the wooden spoon. The dough will be sticky.

Grease a baking tray with a little oil. Dump the dough on to the tray. Spread the dough on the tray with your fingers. Apply some oil on your fingers to spread the dough easily.

Make a rough circle with the dough to a height of about 2 cms.

Cover the tray with a clean kitchen towel loosely and leave it to rise in a warm place for about an hour or until it doubles in volume.

Preheat oven to 200*C.

Prepare your toppings.

Once the dough has risen, lightly oil your fingers and create dimples on the surface of the dough with your fingers.

Sprinkle the herbs and the chilli flakes. Drizzle 2 tbsp. olive oil and spread the chopped olives and sun dried tomatoes over it.

Place the tray in the heated oven and bake for 20 – 25 minutes or until golden brown.

Notes:

All ovens vary. So please check after 20 minutes

You can use any topping of our choice. I used a combination of parsley and oregano. Fresh herbs can also be used. You can also top it off with sliced onions or Jalapeno peppers. You can experiment.

I did all the mixing and kneading in my hand mixer with the dough hook.

tbsp: tablespoon

tsp: teaspoon

Leave a Reply

