Chocolate Fudge

A few days back, I accidentally opened a tin of caramel. Accidents do happen, right? Anyway, it was sitting in my refrigerator and at the back of my mind. Was wondering what to do. A whole tin would have been too much for desserts unless I had friends over. At the moment, people are away or busy with kids / family visiting from back home. Anyway, that was my excuse.

So, googled for recipes and ended up with chocolate fudge : easy and simple and it can be stored for a few days in the fridge. I looked at the ingredients and decided I could “manage”. I will not be “me” if I do not improvise and tweak the recipe. The original recipe was from the carnation website.

I had a bar of milk chocolate and a packet of white chocolate buttons. I had to make up the rest. Internet to the rescue once again. Looked up “joy of baking” website and found a conversion table (by the way I love joy of baking, it is indeed a joy to follow.). The conversion was:

30 grams milk chocolate = 30 grams unsweetened chocolate + 15 grams granulated sugar. I used cocoa powder.

Well, got all the ingredients together and set to work. Oh yes, I added some chopped nuts as well. No chocolate recipe of mine is complete without nuts. It is a personal choice.

I was planning to write it up and a request from my dear cousin just gave me the push I needed. This recipe is so easy, you could get your children involved. They will love it, especially licking the bowls!

RECIPE

Ingredients

400 grams milk chocolate / dark chocolate

397 gms tin of caramel

25 gms butter

100 gms icing sugar

50 – 75 gms nuts, roughly chopped (optional)

A 20 cms square baking pan, lined with non-stick baking parchment paper.

 

Method

Chop the chocolate roughly if you are using a bar of chocolate.

Chop the nuts if using. I gave it one turn in a mini chopper. You could do it with a knife as well.

In a non-stick pan, combine the chocolate (I combined milk chocolate, white chocolate buttons, cocoa powder and granulated sugar), caramel and butter and bring it to a slow boil on medium heat, stirring it often. Once it comes to a boil, reduce the heat further and simmer for 3-4 minutes. Make sure the mixture is smooth.

Take it off the heat. Sieve the icing sugar directly into the chocolate mixture and beat well. Add the nuts at this stage, if using.

Pour the mix in to your prepared baking pan. Tidy the surface with a spatula. Place it in the refrigerator to set for at least 2 hours or overnight.

Once set, cut it into pieces and store in an airtight box in the fridge for up to 2 weeks.

 

Notes:

I used 160 gms milk chocolate, 120 gms white chocolate buttons and 120 gms cocoa powder with 60 gms granulated sugar. It worked but was a little sweet. If you prefer a tinge of bitterness / less sweet, you could use dark chocolate.

You could use any combination of nuts or just one. I used almonds, cashews and pistachio.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

