Chilli – Garlic chicken for a “milder palate”

Whenever I experiment with food and the results are good, I try to note the recipe on a piece of paper…..and…..yes, you guessed right, I lose the paper. So, now, I have decided I will blog it as soon as I can, with or without pictures…..

So, here I am. Hopefully I will remember all the ingredients. Now, lets see. I had half a kilo of boneless chicken. I added vinegar and salt to the chicken and left it in the fridge for a few hours.

A tip for you, if you are grilling or baking chicken, marinate it in vinegar and salt first. You can do it for a couple of hours or even overnight in the fridge. Chicken pieces remain moist and juicy this way. You can wash the vinegar off if you want to get rid of the flavour.

Anyway, then I looked into my fridge. A lot of times I just build the recipe as I go. I am not much of a planner. I do have the occasional “miss”hap but that is how it is. I believe, you can not savour success until you have had a few “falls” along the way.

To get back to my recipe, I decided on green chillies and coriander leaves. I finished with a 2 plump cloves of garlic from the basket. I don’t keep garlic in the fridge, I guess you don’t need to.

I washed the chillies and coriander leaves and put them in the mini chopper with roughly chopped garlic and a little salt. Mum says, chillies turn bitter if you do not add salt. So, I always add a pinch of salt when grinding or chopping in the chopper. I added a tablespoon of olive oil and ran the chopper a couple of times. I wanted a “finely chopped” consistency, not a paste.

Removed the chicken from the fridge and added this mixture to the bowl and tossed it so the chicken was covered with the chilli-coriander leaves-garlic mix. Put it back into the fridge for a couple of hours and then grilled it.

This can be a “lazy” dish or you can do it the “proper” way with skewers and all. It is entirely up to you.

A little confusion, I would like to clear:

Marinate is the action. You “marinate” chicken / beef / prawns.

Marinade is the “mix” you make to marinate your meat. You could use leftover “marinade” to baste your meat.

“Marination” does not exist in the dictionary. Just checked to be absolutely sure.

I will give you a detailed recipe as they do but I have not got good pictures. I might add them  at a later date when I make this again.

RECIPE

Ingredients

Boneless chicken  500 grams (I used breast but you can use thighs as well)

Malt vinegar           2 tbs

Salt to taste

Green chillies        4 – 5, depending on how spicy you like it

Coriander leaves   small bunch

Garlic                         2 cloves, big ones

Olive oil                    2 tbs

Sugar                         1/2 tsp (optional)

Method

Chop chicken breast into cubes, smallish.

Wash them ans drain water completely. You could dry them on kitchen towel as well.

Take the chicken cubes in a glass bowl (avoid using metal bowls for marinating). Add the vinegar and salt and keep in the fridge for a couple of hours (or overnight if you can).

A few hours before cooking, chop the chillies, coriander leaves and garlic finely. You can do this with a knife but it is quicker to use a mini chopper if you have one. You can add the oil and sugar, if using, at this stage. And as I said before add a tiny pinch of salt when chopping. The sugar offsets the heat a little.

Take the chicken out of the fridge and add the chopped chillies mixture to the chicken, making sure it coats all the pieces. Keep it back in the fridge for a couple of hours (you can leave it overnight).

Heat your grill to the maximum temperature. Take the chicken out of the fridge. Empty it on to a baking tray along with the marinade and put it under the hot grill. Grill it for about 10 minutes, turning the pieces around a few times. It will not take long as the chicken pieces are quite small. Mine were crisp from the outside with juicy centres, just the way we like it.

You could also put them on skewers and grill them and keep basting with the marinade or even barbecue them. Simple yet yummy.

Do try this and post pictures and feedback on my page. I always look forward to that.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

