Simplicity is the spice of life!

Sometimes (read mostly) you really enjoy the simple things in life. It could be somebody’s smile, a joke, surprise visit or foooooooooooddddd!!!!!

Here, I am sharing with you a simple and traditional recipe. I have been meaning to try this for a long time. I enjoy the store-bought stuff, sure,  but doing it yourself gives that little bit of extra pleasure.

Have I tried loads of different recipes?! No! I am too lazy and impatient for that. I did try a few and then I found this beauty on Tarla Dalal’s website. I have not made any changes (yes, that is a first for me….oh no!, actually I have made a tiny change).

I loved the results. I hope you enjoy making it and eating it as much as I did. It is unhealthy but it is good for a treat once in a while.

I just realised I have not mentioned what I am talking about. It is just simple Shakarpara. I did warn you it is simple.

Recipe (tarladalal.com)

Ingredients

1/4 cup sugar (you could reduce it a little as it was a tad too sweet)

1/4 milk

2 tbsp ghee (I used 2 1/2 tbsp, just the normal tablespoon sunflower oil)

1 1/2 cup whole wheat flour (roti ka aata that we use at home)

Pinch of salt

Oil for deep frying

 

Method

Combine milk, sugar and oil (or ghee) in a pan. Heat them on a medium heat, stirring occasionally until the sugar melts.

Take it of the heat and set aside to cool.

Meanwhile sift the flour with salt into a bowl (or if you would like to save on washing up, you can wait for the milk and sugar mixture to cool and sift it directly in to the pan)

Mix the flour and milk and sugar mixture together to form a stiff dough. In the original recipe, she has asked to mix the liquid little by little but I used up  all the liquid.

Divide the dough in to four equal parts. Roll each part in to a smooth ball.

Roll out each dough ball (like a chapati) in to 7″ diameter disc.

Cut them in to squares / diamonds.

Heat oil in a kadai, enough to deep fry the squares / diamonds. You could fry them in batches.

When the oil is hot, reduce flame to medium and carefully slide in a few of your shakarpare. Put the flame up and fry until they are golden.

Remove on kitchen towels to get rid of excess grease. Once they are completely cool, store them in an airtight box to retain the crunch.

 

Leave a Reply

