Pizza with a desi twist

Hi folks! I am back once again on my culinary journey. I love taking a recipe from the internet and giving it a “twist and a tweak”. However, I do acknowledge and mention the source. It would not be fair otherwise.

My husband and I are not too fond of pizza but my son is an absolute “fan”atic!!! He loves pizza and in fact, is becoming quite a “connoisseur” of pizza, if you could use that term. Can you imagine planning a holiday just to taste a specific pizza? Well, he did just that and we  actually went on a trip to Naples just to taste neopolitan pizza based on his extensive research.

Anyway, getting back to my pizzas….. I only make pizzas when he is home from university / his travels.

However, quite out of the blue, this recipe for a pizza topping flashed through my brain and I had to try it out.

…and I had all the ingredients  at hand…..

So, I looked up for a recipe for the crust, then realised I had one at hand, jotted down earlier. This is a brilliant recipe by sumodtomzcuisines.com . You should try this one. you will not regret it. Me being me, I had to make tiny changes.

So, without further ado…..here is my recipe. Hope you enjoy it as much as we did. It was absolutely delicious. My husband, who is quite cynical when it comes to pizzas also enjoyed it.

 

RECIPE

Crust:

This is the recipe I have used. It is explained very well (and I am a little haphazard and don’t always follow steps meticulously).

http://sumodtomzcuisines.com/pizza-recipe-from-scratch/

The tiny changes I made:

I used 2 tsp honey instead of 2 tbsp

I baked the pizzas on 250*C, which is the highest setting on my oven. This was a tip I got from my son and it worked for me as my pizza crust were very thin, almost like chapatis.

Tomato Sauce

Ingredients

Onion 1, medium sized, roughly chopped

Garlic 4 cloves, finely chopped (garlic flavour was quite strong, you can reduce it to 2 if you wish)

Olive Oil 1 tbsp

Carrot 1 large, chopped / sliced

Salt to taste

Black pepper, freshly ground, 1 tsp

Chopped tomatoes 1 tin

Oregano 1 tsp (I used dried as I had it at home)

Water 200 ml

Method

Heat 1 tbsp olive oil in a saucepan. Add onions, garlic and chopped carrots to the oil saute on medium heat for 2 -3 minutes. Add 200 mls water to the pan, bring to a boil, reduce flame to medium low. Close the lid and let it simmer for about 10 minutes until the vegetables soften.

Once the vegetables soften, add the can of chopped tomatoes. Bring to a boil, stirring occasionally. Once the sauce boils, lower flame once again, add the herbs and season. Cook it for 5 minutes. Take it off the flame. Your sauce is ready. Set it aside.

(you could leave it for longer on a very low flame if you want a thicker sauce. I did and it enhances the flavour)

Filling

Ingredients

Spinach 200 gms, washed and roughly chopped, leaves only.

Paneer 100 gms, cubed

Cumin seeds 1/2 tsp

Sunflower oil 1/2 tsp

Green chilli 1, finely chopped (you can adjust this according to your taste)

Method

Heat 1/2 tsp oil in a frying pan. Add the cumin seeds. Let them change colour. This takes about 30 seconds.

Add the spinach, salt and chopped green chillies and saute for about 2 minutes, just until the spinach wilts a little. Make sure it does not change colour.

Add the cubed paneer and take it off the heat. Reserve.

Extra toppings (optional, you can mix and match)

Mozzarella Cheese 100 gms

Red Leicester Cheese 100 gms

(you can use any cheese you like. I used less cheese as I don’t like it too cheesy, You can use more)

Olives 20

Sweet corn 1 small tin

1/2 onion, finely chopped / sliced

a handful of finely chopped fresh herbs, I used coriander leaves.

Assembly and baking

Preheat Oven to 250*C.

Put the tray / stone you will use for baking the pizza in the oven to heat up.

Collect all your ingredients together including your dough, which should be risen be now.

Knock out the air from the dough and split it into balls. I made 4 mini pizzas and one large one and still had left over dough. You can use your creativity here.

Roll out the pizza bases with a rolling pin and set them aside. You can decide on the thickness of the crust : deep pan / thin crust. Baking times will also vary depending on the thickness of the crust. Also you would be better of baking deep an crusts at 180*C.

Then, proceed to the fillings. Spread the tomato sauce, that you made earlier, on the base quite generously. Add your fillings over it. Finish with the cheese on top.

Once the oven is hot, remove your tray from the oven and spray with oil. Transfer your pizzas to the tray. You could even do your fillings once you get the crusts on the tray. Be careful you don’t burn your fingers and make sure you are quick.

Mini pizzas take about 5 -6 minutes and the large one take about 8 – 10 minutes. Keep an eye, once the cheese starts bubbling, it is does. Thin crusts take very little time. If you are making deep pan, it will take longer.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Pizza with a desi twist

Leave a Reply

