Mini potato pooris with butter chicken

Okay, so, whenever my husband and I are invited for dinner, my little one is home. Often, I feel guilty trying all that food at dinner parties. Yes, you got that right. There is so much variety at every dinner party. You only get to sample stuff and even then you might not have tasted all of it.

Anyway, coming back to my little one and his dinner. I try to make something special, not variety but food that he would enjoy. One such occasion was today and I was thinking, what shall I make…..as we do…..

There are loads of potatoes from my garden and I do not use potatoes that much. However I do not want to waste them. I did give some away….so, anyway…..put my thinking hat on…..

….boiled a big potato, still wasn’t sure of the next step…….the recipe evolved as I went along….my only inspiration was the sack full of potatoes in my garage, lol. Slowly mashed the potatoes with some butter and mixed in a few Indian spices. Wanted to keep it quite simple as it was for my little one. Mixed in a cup of wheat flour, well, good old chapathi flour. Brought it all together, wrapped it in greased cling film and left it in the fridge.Still wasn’t sure if I was going to fry it or make it on the tava / griddle pan.

I had already taken out some marinated boneless chicken from the freezer. So, that was easy. Made some butter chicken. The whole process took about 15 minutes from start to finish. However, point to note here, my chicken was already prepared and marinated. So, easy peasy.I find washing and cleaning chicken / meat of any sort very boring and I am sure most of will agree with me.

Oh yes, forgot to mention one very valid point, this was a cheat’s butter chicken. I used the base from a packet. I must admit it was quite delicious. Mostly I make from scratch but I had this packet lying in my cupboard. So, I thought might as well use it. Inspiration for Butter Chicken : the masala packet.

image image

Going back to my dough, which was happily resting in the fridge, I ended up making mini pooris as it was,  after all for a mini person.

I will share both the recipes here although for the chicken I followed instructions from the packet.

Mini Pooris

Ingredients

Potato 1 large
Butter 1 tbsp, softened
Salt to taste
Ajwain ½ tsp
Hing / Asafoetida A pinch (optional)
Zeera / Cumin seeds ½ tsp (lightly crushed)
Black pepper ½ crushed
Wheat flour 1 cup

Method

Wash and boil potato. I peeled it and cubed it and boiled it in a glass bowl water just covering it in the microwave for 10 minutes. You can do it as you wish.

Add 1 tablespoon butter to the boiled potato in a large bowl while it is still hot and mash it. Use a spoon or a potato masher to do this.

Once the potato mash is smooth (make sure it has no lumps), add salt, ajwain, zeera and black pepper and mix well. You can do this with a spoon or use your fingers.

Make sure the potato mash is at room temperature. Then add the wheat flour and bring it all together. The moisture in the potatoes will be enough to bind the dough. However you can add some water if you need it. I didn’t need to.

You do not have to knead for long. Wrap the dough in a greased cling film and leave in the fridge for about 2 -3 hours.

Heat oil in a deep kadahi / wok for deep-frying. Leave the oil on medium heat.

Take the dough out of the fridge. Take the cling film off and divide the dough in to three parts. Roll each part in to a ball, it may not be a perfect ball but does not matter. Place each ball between 2 sheets of cling film and roll it out quite thin (thickness of a normal poori).

Cut out mini pooris using a cookie cutter and fry them in the oil in the kadai on medium heat. Each poori takes about 30 seconds as it is so small. If it doesn’t brown well, put up the heat for a minute or two and reduce it again to medium. Fry all the pooris the same way until you use up all the dough.

Notes

You can even make normal size pooris

image

Okay now for the Butter Chicken. I am going to give a “mummy’s version” of it….like…..andaze se…approximation is the word that comes to mind.

About 200 – 250 gms boneless chicken, cubed

For the marinade

2 tsp ginger garlic paste

1 tsp red chili powder (more or less according to taste, 1 tsp gives a mild heat)

Salt to taste

Pinch of home-made garam masala

1 tbsp lemon juice (You could use vinegar as, it helps to keep the chicken pieces tender)

For the gravy base / masala

I more or less followed the instructions on the pack.

1 packet Suhana Butter Chicken Masala

200 mls milk

200 gms tomato puree

2 tbsp + 3 tbsp ghee (I used oil)

1/2 cup water

1 tsp softened butter (I had room temperature butter and it is easier to measure butter when it is soft)

1 tsp black pepper powder (optional)

For garnish (optional)

1 chopped green chilli

a few sprigs of coriander leaves, finely chopped.

Marinate chicken in ginger-garlic, chilli powder, lemon juice, salt and garam masala powder for 2 hours or overnight in the fridge.(if you marinate in the fridge, bring chicken back to room temperature. It cooks more evenly and in a shorter time)

In a thick bottom kadai / wok, heat the 2 tbs of oil / ghee, lower the flame and add the chicken pieces (do not add the marinade). Saute for about 5 – 6 minutes until chicken is done. (Do not overcook the chicken, it goes hard and loses its juicy consistency). Set aside.

In the same kadai / wok, heat the remain 3 tbsp of oil / ghee for about 15 – 20 seconds. Lower the flame and add the tomato puree.

Cook on a low flame stirring occasionally. Keep it partially covered with a lid as it splashes all over.

Cook until you can see the oil oozing out of it. Takes about 10 – 15 minutes depending upon the consistency of the tomato puree.

In the mean time, mix the powder from the masala packet in 200 mls of milk and set aside. Once the oil starts oozing out of the puree add the chicken pieces and the milk and Butter Chicken masala  mix to the pan. Bring to a boil, reduce flame and simmer for about 5 minutes. Add water and simmer for another 5 – 10 minutes. Add butter and pepper powder (if using), close the lid of the pan and switch off the flame.

Garnish with green chillies and chopped coriander if using and serve hot.

image

PS: One thing I do need to really work on is my photography.

3 thoughts on “Mini potato pooris with butter chicken

  1. The pooris sound really delicious. Different from the plain and the masala pooris we make all the time.
    The butter chicken without the butter seems the perfect solution to the calorie conscious 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

