Walnut and coffee gateau

Yesterday, I decided I had enough post to organise them under “catogories”. Whilst doing that I realised that I have not told you guys about my “pet bake”, something I can bake with my eyes closed and a cake that my family loves, well, in baking terms : my signature bake.

I am not sure when,  where or why I started baking this cake, but I have been making coffee and walnut gateau for a long, long time. It is pretty simple but tastes heavenly. You will like it if you are a coffee lover and as you well know, coffee and walnut is a match made in heaven. I make it as a naked cake as well. The aroma is just divine. In England they say, if you have viewings (when you are trying to sell your house), bake a cake. This cake will definitely sell your house!

Actually I have drifted away and not made it for some time. My older one is away from home mostly and I try and control my younger one’s sugar intake and cake is not on my husband’s favourites list…so…..will try and rectify that soon though.

I am sharing the basic recipe with you. Do try it and let me know how it goes. I am not artistic in the least. So, although I frost (if you are American) / ice (if you are British) my cake, I do minimal decorating….and yes I am waiting for the time when people would be able to taste my food virtually because I feel that’s when my blog will “take off”. I am absolutely zero when it comes to presentation…….

walnut andcoffee2 walnutandcoffe3

These are pictures of a cake I made about 2 years back for a lunch at a friend’s place. The tiny bits all round are date rolls.

Okay, so here is the recipe:

Coffee and Walnut Gateau

Ingredients

For the cake

175gms butter (at room temperature)

175gms caster sugar

3 medium eggs, beaten (at room temperature)

2 x 15mls spoons instant coffee powder dissolved in 2 x 15mls of water

150gms self raising flour

75 gms chopped walnuts

For the icing

350gms butter

625gms icing sugar, sifted

15mls spoon instant coffee powder dissolved in equal quantity of water

4 x 15mls spoons chopped walnuts

12 walnut halves

Method

Cake

Preheat oven to 180C / 160C (fan assisted). Prepare 2 20cms tins by greasing it and dusting it with flour.

Cream butter and sugar together until it is soft and light.

Gradually beat in the eggs, one at a time, whisking the butter – sugar mixture after adding each egg.

Then add the coffee dissolved in water. Mix well

Fold in the flour with a metal spoon or spatula until just mixed. Mix in the chopped walnuts.

Divide the batter into the 2 prepared tins and bake for 20-25 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean when inserted at the centre of the cake.

Remove the cakes out of the oven and cool in tins for about 10 minutes. Then using a knife gently take them out of the tins and cool them completely before icing them.

Icing

Beat the butter until soft, then gradually beat in the icing sugar alternating with the coffee. Beat until smooth.

To Decorate

Place one of the cakes on a cake board or a plate. Place a little icing on the surface and spread it with a spatula. Repeat until the whole surface of the first cake is covered. Then place the second cake on top and do the same for the second cake. Then ice the sides of the cake until it is all covered. If you would like a perfect finish, then it is better to do two coats of the icing, the first one is called crumb coating and the second layer of icing should be done once the first one has dried. Then decorate your cake as you wish with more icing and / or walnut halves.

2 thoughts on “Walnut and coffee gateau

Leave a Reply

