Thoughts for the weekend…..

The human psyche (the mental or psychological structure of a person, especially as a motive force, dictionary.com) is complex, mysterious, amazing and a gift from the Almighty. This includes your attitude, behaviour, thought process,  actions and a lot of minute details controlled by an organ which is comparatively tiny in size but its usefulness cannot be measured. Man has tried hard to copy this artistry but could never reach this level of intricacy and precision in his creations. This was just to remind ourselves how tiny and insignificant we are in this world compared to the Greatness of our Creator.

I do agree we, as individuals have our position and importance in our family and society and with it comes our responsibility and duty towards others around us. Self-esteem, self-respect, self-love are very important aspects of our life and are absolutely essential for a happy, well-balanced life. Unless you respect and love yourself, you can not respect and love others around you. Happiness that comes from within an individual is the only true happiness and the person, who experiences that, radiates love and warmth all round him / her. Therefore, it is essential that a person be happy and satisfied with his life. However, in a lot of cases, this phenomenon leads to self-obsession; we are all guilty of this at some point in our life if not all through.

At this point, I would like to mention an advice, which my grandfather gave me almost everyday. He would say forget the ‘me / I’ in you and that would make life much easier for yourself and all those around you. This simple message has helped me at my most difficult times. However, I have not been able to take it on board completely… I wish I could because I have realised that indeed life becomes very pleasant and easy to live if you do. It is not easy but an achievable goal.

Now, I would like to share with you the different types of individuals I have met and actually got to know in my life….

To begin with, there’s the person who strongly believes that the world begins and ends with him / her. They simply can not think beyond the ‘self’. They use you when they need you (I have deliberately used the word ‘use’ here) and then they are on their way until they need you again. Within this category, there are those who are blatant and others who are subtle in their moves.

The next category would be where the individual is just anxious for name and fame. They willingly help you when you need them and are very sympathetic and caring but the moment they realise that the next person (you) has done well at something or is better than them in any way, they are unable to cope with it. They have two ways of dealing with this situation; either they totally ignore you or malign you in front of others.

… and then again, there are people who are helpful and sympathetic and happy for others whilst wishing for limelight for themselves once in a while….

Moving on swiftly, some individuals live their life and let others get on with theirs… however, they ‘are there’ if needed and do not ask for anything in return and generally have a positive attitude towards life…..

Lastly, are the ones who live their life completely for others…. are happy and satisfied in themselves and perhaps not give much attention to their ‘self’…..

The last ‘breed’ is a rarity these days but I have had the good fortune to know some of them and I personally admire them but thats a personal opinion. Meeting different kinds of people is interesting and sometimes gives you an opportunity to learn from their mistakes. One thing we all agree upon is that nobody is perfect. Its easier to learn from others’ mistakes because they are glaringly obvious to you as you are at the receiving end. Sometimes, when you make mistakes, its easier for you to ignore them as you don’t even realise that you have done something wrong. This not the norm but the probability is definitely higher and I am sure you will agree with me.

Finally, the purpose of my note is not to hurt anybody’s feelings or to change people. I would say its just some ‘thinking aloud’ which I do now and then. Its interesting to analyse human nature and behaviour although I am not a psychologist nor claim to be one. These are just my thoughts on paper and they have no scientific basis whatsoever. There’s no right or wrong here, just an observation made by me and it may not even be accurate. If anybody would like to refute or challenge any of it, please feel free.

Enjoy your weekend whatever you have planned…. most of all, think Positive Happy Thoughts! xxxxx

2 thoughts on “Thoughts for the weekend…..

  1. This is an outstanding piece to start your new journey. Basically, I would admire the last but one of the breed mentioned by you! Looking forward to more pearls of wisdom from you in the days to come.

    Like

    1. Thank you. I wrote this quite sometime back. Don’t know about wisdom but my write-ups are mostly spontaneous. I go days together without writing a word, then suddenly there is a spurt…..hoping for plenty of “spurts” 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

